Today was a hot day and it was later before I made it out with Funny, but... it was cooler than it was around dinner time, so... we opted for a lunch time ride. There was a pleasant breeze and honestly, in the woods, it wasn't too bad today. The humidity wasn't awful either, so much more bearable.

I wanted to stick with my plan, so I opted to take Lyric for a lesson this morning and then Funny and I went out after lunch. We started out in the woods and just went for a nice hack. We headed to the small lake and then hiked to the beaver dam and then uphill to the gallop track. Then we trotted the gallop track a good bit. She was strong and forward but not too strong. And she was soft-ish in the connection when I wasn't trying to slow her down. She felt fairly balanced when she could go big, so... I let her stay fairly big as long as she was respectful. We saw a deer... and then she squirted sideways a few times... once because of the deer and the other two times... I have no idea. ;)
Then we trotted to the cross country field and I let her have a canter/gallop. We had fun! But then we trotted and I made her behave and give me a decent trot. Again, still bigger and probably a bit quick, but we got some niecly balanced trots. Then we walked up the hill and went to the arena. I told her that I only needed 5-10 minutes and we were done! It was hot, but she had cooled down a bit from the walk back up. So we trotted and cantered and she was quite nice. Not perfect, but definitely making progress. Overall, she was much less fussy with the contact... and much more balanced in general, but... still a bit too fast and big and still a bit inconsistent... above the bit, behind the vertical. Although I do feel like she was less behind the vertical or above the bit that the last ride. So yay!
We quit and headed in for a hose off and to head home. She drank from the hose again. Ha ha. Weirdo! But hey, she's drinking!









No comments:
Post a Comment