Sunday, July 13, 2025

Field day Fun Day

 

 

We're trying to stick with the plan! Today was a later start than i had meant to but honestly, I was just so tired I couldn't handle getting up early to try to beat the heat. Besides, it's still hot and miserable and even more humid then, so... meh! I could have ridden with friends too, but honestly... I just didn't want to. I'm sad.. I'm not great company. I'm tired of "people-ing" and I want to do my "plan" which is hard with company. 

 

So, I slept in... did some things... and then we finally went for a ride.  I did have to go pick Mike up from Mountain Motorsports so it was probably a good thing I wasn't in a hurry. But after that, Funny and I loaded up and headed to Ashland. I opted to put the jump saddle on because I sort of thought I might pop over a few fences for fun. We headed out and did some hills in our warm up. She was silly... she was sniffing the ground like a bloodhound! Just like her big brother. It was a little excessive and ridiculous. Ha ha. But good stretch in that topline I guess. 

 

We got to the hay fields and gallop track and decided to do our trots. She was pretty good. Forward and quicker but not so obvious as in the dressage arenas. Whether that's because she's not as big and quick or because it doesn't feel so bad because we're in the big wide open. She was however, less fussy in the contact. She seems to want to stay more correct and/or above the bit more than behind the vertical today. So yay for that. We did have to walk because there was a HUGE deer in the field who... would not move! He/she almost seemed to be staring past us, which kind of freaked me out. Like... is there a bigger monster behind us?? ha ha. Eventually we went wide and he/she finally moved. Luckily by this point he was close enough and we had seen him long enough that Funny didn't care. Of course then as we tried to trot the woodline, she was spooky and kept wanting to lurch hard into the middle because of "danger". But we managed some good trots. We also did a canter and I tried the new app. Ha ha.. She's not very fast in the canter! Although we were just cantering, not galloping. I didn't really want to push her since her canter was kind of nice. 



 

We headed back to "Narnia" and did some work in the field. She got a little bit bracy and behind the vertical and quicker but... we did manage to settle a bit. I also took her in the water complex and we did a few spins around at the trot to help encourage her to slow her roll. And to cool off. Because.. it's hot y'all! So hot!

 

 

So then we headed back to the arenas and did a teeny tiny bit of trot in there. She was soooo good. Like... slow and small. I'm sure she was exhausted and hot, but... we got a few circles, lots of praise, and called it quits! I'm trying to encourage good behavior in the arena and take the "combativeness" out of it. So I'm giving her cookies, telling her she's awesome and getting out quick before it goes south. 

 

 

No comments:

Post a Comment