Today we had the UGA vet come out to check out Lyric and potentially Funny too. We spent a good while on Lyric and then they looked at Funny. She was curious about them at first but then when they went to palpate her stifles she shot them a dirty mare look and they backed off. She intimidated the students but luckily the Vet was able to carefully palpate her. She did have a little bit of effusion. So then we took her up to the arena to lunge and the tech let me do it. Ha ha. Dude... my homeschooled horses need more exposure to other people doing things for them! They watched her go and felt like she was mildly lame, maybe a 1/5 at best on both outside hind limbs on a circle. She said that was consistent with stifles and given her history of surgery to just expect to have to maintain them routinely. She did suggest adding in legends and then do prostride or something similar instead of steroids when we did them. I also could shockwave them I bet too. But they opted not to flex her hind end. Ha! I don't blame them. Her front end was fine, which was good since she does have a chip in both fronts too.
Anyways... I had enough time to sneak in a quick ride after they left but the weather was looking a little sketchy. I ate a late lunch real quick and then just decided to ride at home. We had a decent ride. She was still quick but overall, much better.









No comments:
Post a Comment