Whooo hooo!! Such a fun XC lesson with Jacel and Laura! We started out very quick! She was feral! I got grabby and was holding with my reins, which... even though it's a nathe, that's a good bit of bit with the elevator. So she went behind the vertical. BUT... if I do alternating half halts AND keep my hands low, she's way better. Plus I can ride with my seat! Although, she did let out a giant buck when I first sat and used my seat. Ha ha!
She did settle fairly quickly though, especially because I rode better. We warmed up trotting a log, which...took us a few times to actually trot. Then we did a few other things and I had to almost leg yield her into the line so I wasn't just hanging on her face. We moved on to the banks and ditches and the combinations. She got a little feral coming off the down bank and then we totally ran past our line with the sharp turn. Jacel told me that I had to hold her accountable. I couldn't just hang on her face but I also had to get gritty and get it done at some point. So... I insisted and it got better. Although she decided to take a flyer off the bank one time... like launched off it like she was sky diving!! Holy mother!!! We were joking about bank stress and how we all hated up banks so much but I fear that she might give me down bank phobias! And of course she had to buck on landing because she surprised herself launching off it!
Fun XC lesson.
feral! very quick.. got grabby and holdy with my reins... she curled. ugh. but if i do alternating half halts and ride with my seat, she's better. though she did let out a giant buck when I sat initially ;)
Settled fairly quickly... warmed up trotting a log.. had to circle once or twice. then did a few fun things, which was better when I leg yielded her into the line vs just ridng her face.
then did banks and combos. got a little feral and missed the line so had to rip her face off and then it got a little better. probably because I rode softer by more insistent (softer in my hands, more insistent and proactive in my body). launched off the down bank...
then did trakehnher lovely. then did the coffins... then the ramp... finished with log into water, up bank out, and over the chevron.
fun!!!
add photo (just one because.. feral dragon) and videos from jacel
No comments:
Post a Comment