I didn't have it in me to go to Ashland twice today... and I really wanted to ride, so... Funny had to do some arena work. Sorry chick! I know I said you'd get some time off/relaxation rides, but... you have. ;)
She was slightly feral. Of course. We started out fairly quick and she was a bit reactive and kicking out again. (She is in heat). But we managed to try to do our homework. We were making some progress and then Mike showed up in the pasture. She had to stop and stare and I had to wait til he got close enough to hear me (too many motorcycle and mustang rides). He said he wanted to make sure I was okay since he didn't think I was riding anymore and didn't see me. I asked him to take a quick video while he was up here, so he did. I was laughing so hard though because Dan was also up there watching so he went up to Mike and was sniffing him for cookies. But, he was being polite and had his ears up, so that was encouraging. Mike told him he had nothing and then Dan started to turn and put his butt in Mike's face for butt scratches. Mike was so confused and kept turning to get away from Dan's butt. It was like a slow motion cat chasing the mouse around the tree cartoon. Hee hee. I was giggling. Then Dan gave up and Mike went to come through the gate but shocked himself three times on the electric fence. I couldn't help but laugh... I know, I know, he's coming to video me too!(proof that we were able to get the occasional transition within the gait and get her slightly shorter)
So then I picked Funny back up and she was awful. She was fussy and slinging her head around. She was quick and back to running. Ugh. Of course... because now we have video. doh! I tried to just ignore the fact that this was on film and ride correctly and do our homework. She felt like she was throwing me to the left and it seemed like if I sank into my right stirrup (stirrup stepped) it was better.. but it was hard to know if that was making me collapse my right side, which I think I tend to do anyways. So we kept at it and had a few good moments. We picked up the canter and she was quick again but our left lead felt less motorcycly. Mike got tired and quit videoing so I took my phone back and rode some more. She got a little better so I handed him my phone again. And while he was videoing... I took a chance and tried for a flying change across the diagonal. On a straight line.. not a figure 8. And... she nailed it! I asked and she changed. It was awesome!!! Then we did it the other direction and she was definitely a bit delayed after my ask and she got very quick, but she did it that way too. SOOOOO cool! And yes, it's a long way off from a proper change... heck, it's a long way off from a proper canter. Ha! But.. it was a clean change, on the aids (the first one) and on a fairly straight line. For our first real attempt, I'm thrilled!! I got a little bit more trot in and finished with a halt and salute to Mike. Hee hee. Overall, it wasn't our best ride, but there was a few steps here and there that were decent. And the videos are too long to share, other than the snippet of the changes, but the still shots showed some good moments. Sadly they were literally only moments. She would be nice for one stride, then fling her head. Or get quick. Or curl. And I'm sure I wasn't doing right by her. But, there were some good moments and we did get that awesome change, so yay.
(ha ha.. this was right before she picked up the canter! She looks like she's in a tolte!)
We showed Mike how good she is at opening and closing the gate. He was impressed. Then we walked home together. It was fun having him hang out with us. Poor girl was so sweaty though. I had to hose her off. But it wasn't even getting cold enough to sheet tonight, so she was fine. I used warm water and she rolled and by dinner time she was dry.












No comments:
Post a Comment