Today was a good lesson but not a great lesson. It just didn't feel as successful. But it was helpful. They can't all be rainbows and unicorn lessons. ;) We did grids and worked on bendy lines. And she did all the things. And she jumped an angled jump without hesitation. (Which, at the Lucinda clinic earlier in the year just this year she didn't understand angled jumps). So.. there was a lot of good. I just felt like I didn't ride as well.
We started with a grid. And Funny clocked through it. She was putting in two strides whereas Laura was putting in three consistently. But... we did get three strides in one or two parts of the grid a time or two. So.. there's that. ;) She did get quicker the more we did the grid. She was rushing. And she was also fussy again. She would stand and be chill when it wasn't our turn.. on the buckle.. but then as soon as it was our turn, it was immediate fire breathing dragon! The whole rearing up/popping up front and back instead of just going forward. Or going straight into the canter vs picking up a trot. But that's not that unusual for our jumping lessons, especially with friends.
Towards the end of our lesson she seemed to get tired because she felt behind my leg a little and a few times we got to the jump and she sort of fizzled. Or at least that's what it felt like. Maybe I'm just too used to her running at things and didn't give her the support she needed. It did get better when I did what Jacel told me. And.. I got confused. Although I feel dumb for getting confused. She was telling me to move her barrel with my inside leg. And I was doing that... riding her almost in a leg yield. But she meant more of a ride the inside hind into the outside rein. I wasn't supporting the outside ... just sending her sideways. And not trapping/holding that energy I created. Oh duh! I need to think more dressage and engagement vs just leg yielding. But I don't want to confuse it with collection.. because I'm not shrinking her.. just adding more power. So... engagement vs collection.
The other reason I felt "off" was because I was pinching with my knee. Jacel was telling me to shorten her step to build power and prevent her from rushing by closing my thighs. Which.. I can do in the dressage saddle. But when I tried it in the jump saddle I was pinching with my knees. And then in an effort to not pinch with my knees, I wasn't holding with my seat. I had to think about lifting the saddle into my crotch... lifting her back and withers... and tigthening my "three points" of my body in the three point. Like.. tighten my crotch for lack of better words. Instead of just closing my thighs. Tigthen and lift my thighs/crotch. And when I thought of it like that, it got better. But I didn't get to that point til the very end of my lesson. Argh! But once I did that.. and kept my hands low, she was able to get a better balance and lift and sit vs just running and inverting.
She was a good girl. And it was a fine ride. It just was frustrating that it took me that long to figure out. Oh well. We're gonna have some icky rides here and there. And overall it was still better!
After our lesson we went for a quick hack around the lake with Laura and Smarty.




No comments:
Post a Comment