Trails help... always!!!
Today was a lovely day. It was still chilly but a bit less bitter and windy and the sun was out. We met up with Sharon and Baylor for a nice hack at Ashland. It was crowded!! Seriously, we ran into about 7 people at one time on the trails. And it was three separate groups!
But we had a great ride. We did the hill loop so we got in a good work out too! We only walked. Funny led and was a good girl. She only had to give Baylor the mare stare once or twice and luckily that was all she did. We finished in the XC course so I walked her over the BN ditch. She was fussy at first and refused but then went over it. Goofball!
After that I took her to the lower dressage arena to practice our dressage test. She was kind of awful. There was still a bunch going on in the parking lot so she was distracted and naughty. She was running and braced and hollow. But... we worked through it and eventually got some decent work. It's a fine line of remembering that she is young and green but also holding her to higher standards and expecting her to step up to the plate. We did manage to finish with a pretty decent run through of our test so we called it quits. Sadly she was a bit sweaty again so we walked up to the stadium ring as our cool down. I was hoping to say hi to Kelly Eaton but she was in teacher mode and didn't even stop to wave. Laura and Smartie looked good though!
We hacked back to the trailers and by then she was only mildly sweaty so I just rubbed her down. Good pony. We'll get the dressage. She's got a fancy pony in there. I just have to figure it out. But today was better than yesterday at the end so yay for that.

















No comments:
Post a Comment