This weather is icky. It was a drizzly 40-45 degree day today. Icky. Mike and I went to Sandy Springs for lunch and ice skating. It was kind of a nice little breather. We got home at 4ish and I sat on the couch for a bit but then finally got motivated to go outside and at least do some in hand work with the ponies. A friends FB story guilted me into it. ;) Ha! Plus I wanted to.... I just was being lazy about going out in the cold, although I knew that I would warm up and be motivated once I did it. So I did.
I took Dan into the arena first and did some pillar work and tried to do other things but he just wasn't feeling it. So we tried for a bit and then I turned him out and took Lyric in the arena for some pillar work. And then a quick lunge. She actually looked pretty sound, so... maybe!?!?! So then, I was like... "well crud... now I'm warm and motivated!". But, at this point it was pretty close to getting dark, and I was in ski pants. I debated going and changing and getting Funny tacked up for a ride, but.. her bit was going to be cold, and I figured by the time I got her tacked up, it would be getting dark. So... then I decided that I could hop on bareback at least. So I did!
I snagged her and put the lead rope back on itself at the bottom of her chin and pulled her blanket off and hopped on. She was a good girl. We walked and worked on "inside leg to outside rein" although technically, there really wasn't an outside rein. But we did work on bend and not overbending in the neck. Then we trotted a little bit. She got a little quick and hollow but settled down and we kept working on the inside leg yielding. She was pretty good. We also practiced our halts (ha! After yesterday). She was quite good for the halts, granted we weren't in a box.
I called it quits after a few halts and put her blanket back on and we headed back in for dinner. Not exactly a super productive ride but it made my heart and soul feel better. AhhhhhhGood pony girl!




No comments:
Post a Comment