Saturday, August 30, 2025

Spicy?? Challenge Accepted!

 I don't know if Funny got wind that there may be another redheaded sister who is touted as "spicy" and felt she had to up her game, but HOLY MOLY she was a keg of dynamite today!

I opted to ride her after I worked on Beth's horse in hopes that it would have cooled down a little. So I rode at 6:30 instead of 3ish. Not really helpful. And probably a worse choice! It was just as hot... and the sun was going down just enough that it was creating massive glare in half the arena, which made Funny extra spooky I guess. And then someone showed up at Jean's farm and had a very excited yippy little yappy dog that was carrying on...  It did not make my life easier at all!

Luckily she was in her stall when I got home so I didn't have to chase her or have her pull free and run off. I decided to ride her in the nathe today and see what happened. I did take the regular bit up with me just in case. And I almost put it back on but... I'm glad (ish) I didn't. We started up the hill and she was flinging her head around and chomping way worse than usual before we even made it to the arena. Does it taste like boy drool? Gross!!! We got in the arena and she was on edge and jumpy. But we started out okay. She was just more fussy and chompy than usual. Just as I was about to pick up the trot, that dog started yapping. And that made Funny freak out. She kept spinning to look that way...  I think the weird glare was making it hard because it was hard to see.... and as an alpha mare.. especially when you add in unusual yapping noises.. fair..  But she kind of got overly extreme with her annoyance at the dog. We spent a good chunk of time looking, spinning, running, avoiding, etc because of that. And she was inverted and hollow and running and threatening to bolt/spin/etc. At one point I got mad and just smacked her upside the poll. Not my finest moment, but... I was starting to fear for my safety a tiny bit. Especially when I realized that my girth was literally gapping at the side! So, props to me for not coming off acutally. And... yay that my saddle doesn't seem to be sliding around anymore, even when it could be! 

I finally gave up and just let her sit at the fence and stare for a few minutes... and then luckily the dog simmered down and quit yipping and carrying on. So that helped. We kept riding and it was a weird ride. Like... she was so tense earlier that she was practically jigging in the walk and her walk was super lateral... she was hollow. It was awful. And she was super fussy and chompy again. And rooting some. BUT... there was also some moments where it felt like she was almost reaching for the bit. So... I'll ride her a few more rides in the nathe and see what happens. I can't decide if she liked it better or worse. I can't decide if I liked it better or worse. But I do think that I felt a little less reluctant to ask for contact with the rubber bit... for whatever silly reason. So.. I don't know. We'll see. We had some good moments where she felt nice... even though she felt explosive too. And she definitely was strugging bending left today.. .she kept slinging body parts. And twisting her head. So... yeah... it was a weird ride because when I think about it... it was rather awful, but.. I do feel like it was good too! Like... the few moments where she wasn't feeling like I was about to get launched to Texas... she felt lovely.

I got a few nice circles and called it quits. I was so tempted to do more... but I decided that I should be thrilled I stayed on and she didn't really try to get me off or get combative... we finished on a good note... let's keep it that way! Besides, I didn't want it to get bad again and have to keep going longer and longer. So we halted... then did another halt and it was better! So she got a cookie and we headed back to the trailer for a bath. 

Jeepers.!!! I did laugh a little because when we first got in the arena and the dog started I started whistling for Dan... just like I used to do for Fleck when Dan was being naughty. Please come up here and be near so I don't die.. please! And just like Fleck, Dan moseyed on ever pretty quickly and kept us company. Good boy! And honestly... ha ha.. he was probably better about it than Fleck because I remember having to tie Fleck to the fence a few times because he would keep wandering back to the barn.  :) Golly I miss him!

  

Hopefully one day I'll look back and remember how feral she was and be thrilled at how tame and sane and ridable she is.  Just like with Dan. Although, I really don't remember Dan being quite this extreme!

No comments:

Post a Comment