Sunday, October 12, 2025

Body work and a hack

 Funny's hock was a bit less swollen today! Yay! It's gravitating down, so.. that's encouraging. And now, now that I'm not panicking, I'm remembering that she tends to blow up with wounds. That darn sensitive red skin. So...hopefully it really is just a cellulitis flare thing. 

She got some body work today too! She "volunteered" so she went first. She kept wanting us to scratch her and kept "assuming the position". Ha ha. No baby girl... we're working! She was pretty good for it though. Much better than usual but my friend was very slow and accomodating for her. She worked on her diaphragm, her sternum, and her poll and neck base. Oh, and her face. And her back. She got some good releases! Hopefully this will help. 

When she was done (she also worked on Lyric) I was torn.. it was close to 4 pm... but I was half tempted to ride. I wasn't sure if I wanted to take her to Ashland so that I could hack if she was too sore to dressage.. or if I wanted to ride her at home, so that if she was too sore to dressage.. I'd not have wasted as much time. But, it was such pretty weather.. I opted to go to Ashland. So we did!

We were the only ones there. I did try Lyrics saddle on her, and while it seemed like it was going to fit nicely... it bridged horribly. Which... makes no sense to me, but... clearly I'm just clueless. It also looked a little too narrow, so I just.. put her back in the Ryder but added the shims behind. 

We went for a nice long hack. We ran into a few spiders. Doh! I really think Funny walked facefirst into the center of the web at least 3 times! Like...she really should have had giant joro spiders literally crawling on her face! We did a little bit of trotting but she was a powerhouse! Her walk was pretty powerful to begin with and the trot was a bit of a power trot! We had a nice hack and I sort of let her choose which path she wanted to take. It was nice out... chasing the sunset.

We finsihed up and I asked her to do just a few mintues in the arena with me. So we headed in and did a little bit of work. She felt sound. Yay! But she was back to being quick and rushy again. We managed to get her slightly less quick and had some nice moments, but overall it was still too fast. I didn't do a ton and we managed to end with some really nice left bend, which is hard for her. She was still a little bit fish taily... or more exactly... drifting...like those cars on the track. But she was at least bending around my left leg, so yay. We finished with some nice trot circles and then I asked her to walk. She immediately got quick and lateral and jiggy so we spent another 5-10 minutes getting a calm walk and then making our way out of the arena. Doh! 

She was pretty sweaty so even though it was getting close to dark, she's so hairy.. I figured she'd be happier with a rinse. So I did. Then she got her back on track for the ride home, so luckily she was mostly dry when we got home. 






















No comments:

Post a Comment