Saturday, October 4, 2025

Spiraling!!! Me, not Funny

 Oooof.... I was so pleased with her at our jump lesson and was in such a good mood. And then I saw the videos and started to panic because she was swapping behind and bucking and kicking out again. And then I started to worry that she wasn't sound.... that she was in pain... that I needed to make a vet appointment... that she was broken forever... And then I panicked more about her saddles... And then I was dumb and posted on the vet only page about wondering how to tell if you're horse is lame vs just feral... and of course, everyone (well, most everyone) said she was lame... not feral. And probably rightfully so. So I spiraled deep.. Most of the comments were that she looked angry/painful vs just naughty. Someone commented that happy bucks tended to happen early in the ride, vs late in the ride... and they said swapping behind is usually a pain thing. And... they're not wrong. Which is why I was panicking in the first place. To me... (to my credit)... she is naughty but then the fact that she was swapping behind and kicking out at the end of our lesson... when the jumps got big... sort of tells me that perhaps this is pain. However.... it doesn't mean it's the end of the world... it could be as simple as "this is hard, I'm sore and I'm mad". But of course... I spiraled into "she's done... she'll never be able to do anything higher than BN"... 

So I have been upset... and debating whether to take her to Keelin instead of Dan.. or instead of Lyric... or should I take her back to Dr. Barrow... Anyways... after Mike and I hung out today (which was easy to do because Dan's broken... I was thinking Funny is broken... and Lyric is good but depends on the day, so super easy to say I won't ride on this most delicious fall weather day!), I came home and did some chores. Then I took Lyric for a ride. And then after dinner, I adjusted Funny. She's overdue and I thought it might give me some info. And Praise God for throwing me a bone, because... I don't think it's her stifles now. The magic sticks really hardly reacted to her stifles and it was only her left one, which went away after I adjusted it. And, she was fairly sore in her SI joints and her gluteals. Which makes sense... she's working hard and using her hiney more. She was also VERY reactive at her hocks... like, tried to kick me reactive, and once I got her left hock adjusted, she yawned about 7 times. So... I am now leaning towards taking her to Dr. Barrow soonish... but not going to panic. I suspect that I probably should just back off a little on the jumping. She did grow a half inch and she is likely going to be in season any minute now (because Lyric clearly is today, so... ). And we did jump her very high comparatively, and she has been working much more on her hind end recently. So I'm hoping she just is a little "leg day at the gym" sore and with some rest, therapy, and support, she'll be fine. I'll still take her for a lameness exam but hopefully it won't necessitate injecting anything already! 

So.. she got adjusted... and then I'll start bemering her, and we'll do the glucosamine again... and I may go ahead and do her adequan early instead of waiting til March. Or switch her to twice a year. I'll do some taping for her hocks. And we'll back off of jumping a little bit and do some more hacking and less dressage drilling too. And.. I'll probably start her on the sucralfate powder I ordered too. Because... that's why I ordered it right?? 

So... fingers crossed the magic sticks are right! And maybe it really is a lot of attitude combined with overdoing it just a little bit. In other words, still pain, but perhaps a very dramatic response to mild pain.

At least she's pretty! And athletic! And ... honestly, she's been super sweet lately (on the ground at least). Snuggly. So maybe she is about to go into heat. When I was adjusting her she kept doing her funny crab stretch to get me to scratch her udders. Weirdo! But I love her.



No comments:

Post a Comment