Today was a beautiful day! The ponies got their feet done this morning. And Funny was naughty! She was the worst one. Although she made me giggle because Dan's all snarly and makes all the faces but really doesn't do much. Whereas Funny... she's all innocent looking up front but is really fussy and naughty behind. She doesn't kick but she yanks and pulls and shifts. I'm really going to have to start practicing the farrier moves with her so Patrick doesn't fire me. We joked that she's quite the big girl and packs a punch! Although she did save Patricks life today. Ha ha. When I first pulled her out, she was nosing the hoof knives and we decided she was like "Um Patrick... Dan's gonna be next and you know he tried to cut you, so perhaps you should put these away!". Ha ha... So he did. :)
I told him how she was maybe weak on the right hind and then I panicked it was where her abscess was blowing out. He said no.. it looked great. But he did suggest that maybe we try her in the 3d pads since she was finally starting to show some signs of caudal failure behind. So.. we did. So, maybe that will help her hind end some. Although I did tell him I was more suspicious of hock pain, saddle fit, ulcers, hormones, etc.
Anyways... after he left I went to Tractor Supply for cat food and then lunged Lyric and then played with Dan. Then it was Funny's turn. She probably could have used a lunge day too but... I wanted to ride, so... she got ridden. I used the Peter Horrobin saddle again and... I'm still thinking she likes it.
We just rode at home because of timing and the arena's were closed at Ashland for the show prep. I was tempted to go hack but wanted to have time to do some chores too so.. we rode at home. She was a good girl. We did some walk warm up and played with haunches in and shoulder in. And she was quite decent at it for just starting with it recently. Then we picked up the trot and she was overall quite decent. She was a little quick towards the end but started out much slower. And I even had my dressage whip today! Not that I used it, but... still. We played with some lengthens and back to regular trot and then did some shoulder in and leg yield. We even played a tiny bit with half pass and she's not half bad at it. Then we did some canter work and it wasn't bad either. No more swapping behind today. Yay! We did some lengthens and back to working canter (still haven't quite managed collected canter) and did some shallow serpentines. I'm getting better at my position in this saddle too although I still struggle to really sit down into it. Even when I try to lift her back into the saddle. We went back to the trot and then back to the canter and did some transitions. Towards the end we were a bit quick and behind the vertical. We also played with the halts, which wasn't great. But we got a few decent ones.
So... overall, I still feel like this is the best bet for her saddle wise... although I wish that it would have slowed her down too. Ha!
We hacked home via Jean's driveway and said hi to her Halloween inflatables again. Funny barely even glanced at them. I did have to laugh as the dragon looks like it's backing away from her. Ha ha!! FEAR ME DRAGON!!! I AM THE MOTHER DRAGON! Then we chatted with Mike as he was working in the garage. Then we were going to walk to the lake and back but... we just went a little ways and turned around. She wasn't being naughty but she turned around, so... I went with it.














No comments:
Post a Comment