Thursday, October 16, 2025

Musical Saddles

 Funny's hock was still slightly swollen this morning but not as hot, so... yay for that. I ended up riding her because I wanted to see if she was sound still, wanted to see if the ride would make it worse again (before the vet appt and before the show) and I wanted to try the baroque saddle on her. So... I did. We rode at home because of time and that way if she wasn't happy, it wasn't a big deal to hop off and call it a day. 

I tacked her up and got on and we headed up the pasture to the arena. She was LIT UP!! Like... almost yeeted me off twice and jazzed up. We managed to circle back once to do the hill twice and make it to the arena. Once I got her in the arena she settled a bit. There was a cute little young buck that trotted off outside the arena but she didn't seem bothered by him. ;) 

We started out walking and she seemed pretty happy... soft neck and not nearly as fussy in the bridle. We picked up the trot and it started out pretty promising... she wasn't quick... she was pretty soft in the bridle. We got some good work in overall and did our homework. We did some cantering and even trotted over one jump for fun. I would say overall the ride was better in ways and worse in ways. She got quick in the middle and then especially at the end, but she didn't buck or squeal. She felt softer in her neck and more relaxed in her neck. She felt less fussy and less chompy in the bridle, although she was still chompy. And she felt a little less quick in her tempo. BUT... she didn't feel like she wanted to lift her back up. She felt more inverted/hollow. Although not terribly so. I do wonder if some of it is the way the saddle has me sitting... like does it just feel like her back is lower because of how it sits my pelvis?? 

 

So yeah... I'm not sure. Is it better? Is it worse? Was it better/worse because I wasn't in a lesson and not being as adamant about her working more correctly without Jacel there? 

When I got off there was a rub spot where the hair had been rubbed and got all crinkly and irritated on the left side, but not on the right. And she didn't seem back sore. 

So I still don't know what to do. I guess I need to set up my pivo again and get video. And keep playing musical saddles to see if I can find a trend... 

After the ride her hock wasn't any worse, so.. I took photos and a video. When I had Dan at the vet, I showed them to the vet and he said that it was likely just cellulitis. He felt like I didn't need to bring her in because if it was in the joint, I'd KNOW! She'd be lame, febrile, painful, etc. So...phew! He did suggest I add some bute, keep her on the SMZ's for at least 7-10 days, and monitor. He did say that he probably wouldn't show her if there wasn't improvement, but... it wouldn't be the end of the world if I did.. I'd just likely have to keep her on meds longer. So... we'll see. 

No comments:

Post a Comment