The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands.
Today was a glorious day! Mike and I woke up early and drove to Blueridge for a train ride. It was cool. We got home around 5 pm so he told me to go play. So I did! The sky was just so beautiful with the sparkling sun, the dark clouds, the bright crisp blue sky, the big white fluffy clouds and the darker storm clouds, and then the (stinky and awful) pretty bradford pear trees. So ... I hitched up lickety split and then grabbed Funny and away we went!
We got there and tacked up as everyone else was leaving. PERFECT! The skies were a little threatening but we ended up having a glorious ride. No rain until way later tonight. I did sign up for the arena so I didn't get in trouble but we started out on the trails. We headed out to the XC field for the sunset and a little snack. Then we headed to the lake. As we got almost to the lake we must have spooked a deer because we heard a rustle and then all I saw was a flash of white over the edge of the hill down Raccoon Loop. Funny was upset and tried to spin and bolt once or twice. But I got her settled enough to get a photo of the gorgeous sunset on the lake. We missed getting her golden unicorn horn though because the sun had sank just low enough that our unicorn horn line disappeared. Once she realized there wasn't anything, we headed down Raccoon loop and crossed the bridge. Then we took sideways up the hill to the XC field.

When we entered the cross country field the sunset had backlit the eastern sky and it was lovely! I let Funny snack some more and then we went to the water complex. I wanted to trot the water. She was hesitant to go in at first. It was really deep. But I got her in without a true refusal. Then we walked out of the up bank and when I tried to go down it she said no. So we went back in and out the up bank twice more and then we did some circles trotting. Ha ha.. Holy cow!! I thought her trot was hard to sit before, but she was so bouncy in the water! There's no way I could sit that trot. hee hee. I was giggling. Then we walked back out and when we came back down into the water, she said no at first, but then I did get her in. We did it two more times and then I gave her a snack. It's still not perfect, but it got better.
Then we headed up to the arena and did some dressage. She was pretty darn good. Overall I would say she wasn't as quick or as fussy for more of the ride than my last few rides without Liz. She did get fussy and quick after we cantered but it took until we cantered. Although she was a tiny bit fussy when we went to turn left some. But, we got a great shoulder in at the walk down the long side. Both ways! Then we got a fairly acceptable half pass at the walk both ways, the right was better. Then our trot was great and our leg yields were better. We took a breather and then did some more and cantered. The right lead canter was quite nice but we never managed to get the left lead that lovely. It was acceptable though. Then we finished with a very nice trot and a nice walk. And then we were running out of daylight so we headed in.
The little tiny christmas tree with the solar lights was still there and it was finally dark enough for it to turn on. And it blinks and flashes. Funny was eyeballing it but then when it blinked she would flinch. We got closer and holy cow, she was flinching so much I thought she was having a seizure or was tying up. Ha ha! Not really, but kind of. ;) She was silly. She's so darn jumpy! But she was brave and finally stopped flinching.
Good pony! We made it home and got everyone fed and inside long before the rain hit but it's now currently storming with lots of thunder and lightning and rain. I'm guessing the arena's will be closed tomorrow at Ashland. I probably should have taken Dan so I could have practiced my dressage test but I can do that Tuesday I guess. And Funny and I had fun!
















No comments:
Post a Comment