Tuesday, September 23, 2025

Feral and Fancy

Today was lesson day but we had to move them to the morning. Unfortunately I had already scheduled the saddle fitter for the morning (because of afternoon lessons) so... I could only fit one in. But I'm so glad we were able to do it. 

I opted to ride Funny and do a flat lesson in case we can also still lesson on Thursday and I can jump Lyric Thursday. So we got tacked up and headed to the arena. To my delight, Mackenzie had tagged along so we spent a few minutes talking. After a few minutes Dan and Lyric decided they were bored and started bucking and rearing and levitating and galloping. Funny was chill for a few minutes but they kept carrying on so she finally got amped up too and did some shenanigans of her own. I just rode her through it and Mack was laughing at me like "just another day". She said I was so nonchalant. Ha ha.. I mean.... it's kind of a common occurence. ;) And besides... she's one to talk.. I've seen some of Syn's antics!! 

Finally the ponies got settled and resorted to climbing in and out of the water trough (empty) and Funny chilled. We also decided it was time to go to work, which distracted her and put her to work. It was a good continuation of our dressage warm up lesson at the show. We started off with trot work and she had to stay "smaller" and not in charge. I used my seat and thighs and patterns to get her to do a more true working trot vs  her usual more extended trot. And it worked! She was much more ameniable and even gave me some really nice work. She was lifting her back and using her core and even reaching a bit for the bit. Much less fussy in the bridle too. (She's back in the fager because she ate through the nathe and then I tried the big rubber one I bought but felt like maybe she didn't like it as much so I put the metal one back in for the show and... I didn't have time to swap them out today so I just kept it on). We played a bit with shoulder in too and she was pretty darn good! 

Then Jacel told me to canter and said "I have a thought but we'll see how it goes" ha ha. She had me canter.. then do a 15 meter circle... then lengthen the canter...then collect again. And.. it actually worked!!! Although she did warn me to not ASK for the lengthen.. just allow a small lengthen.  Ha ha... Wise words! But it was pretty cool how responsive to my seat she is. :) So then we sat and chatted for a few because... baby girl worked hard and her butt was likely sore. She was doing leg day at the gym! And then we got carried away with chatting so finally, we had to canter the other way. And... Funny was so chill Mackenzie was like "she's gotten all her sass out". Ummm. No!! Definitely not. Ha ha.. I picked up the reins and almost immediately Funny was like "NOPE.. I am DONE!". And did her stop/prop/buck/rear nonsense... threw in a few squeals... but finally we got her cooperative-ish and finished with a nice canter and did the lengthens and shortens and she was lovely! That canter is soooo freakin' nice! And I told Jacel... despite the antics and the sass, overall, she really is getting quite obedient. Really!! When I asked (politely and within reason) she responded with the correct answer without sass almost immediately. After a few strides when it got hard, the sass showed up, but initially her response was obedient! And she's come such a long way in such a short time. I have to keep reminding myself that she is making progress, even though she still seems to be "behind" in ways... And I'm also getting to where I've "picked my path" as far as her connection in the bit. I'm just... going to do it my way... and not worry that she's not "through or connected or on the bit". 

Overall, the whole ride had some really nice work! She felt so uphill and balanced and soft and carrying me and I didn't have to fight with her face. She was still a bit fussy and still probably not "in the bridle" like most would want but... it's how I want her to be! She's starting to reach for the bit and she's using her body correctly and she's happier and I'm happier and it's easier for me and we're not fighting, so... YES PLEASE!! 

Mackenzie even got some video!! :) 

Later the saddle fitter came and we checked the ryder on her. She said she liked the fit and just wanted to tweak some flocking. She didn't think it rocked on her too bad and the little tiny bit was likely due to the flocking being a bit hard and balled up in the back. So she's all readjusted and hopefully she'll be even more happy with it next ride. :)










No comments:

Post a Comment