Sunday, September 7, 2025

My bright spot today

Had a not so great day... cried about fleck. cried about saying no to Cayenne even though it's the right choice. Just sad. Rode Lyric first and she's definitely not happy, so sad about that. 

Had a XC lesson and prayed on the way to not be in a bad mood.... don't need to run XC like that. got there a hair early and met Jacel with Drago (she didn't get home in time to drop him off from the baby horse show, so he came to lessons). Hacked out to XC with him and Funny was a good solid citizen. Showed him how to get into the water complex. Then tried to do a little warm up and she was a bit sassy. Realized I forgot my xc vest so trotted back to get it. Drunk monkey trotting back. 

warmed up and she was a bit sassy, but her usual self. Not a fan of the hind XC boots so more bucking than usual. but warmed up great. jumped up and down bank... small jumps. Don't lift my hands.... keep them low. I can half halt and let go but I have to do it with low hands. Funny hates the high hands. Especially with the nathe duo elevator bit. then Laura did the corner and Jacel asked if I wanted to do it. KINDA YEAH! In fact, after the down bank it was kind of right there and I was sort of tempted so when she asked, I was like Yeah. Didn't do it off the down bank though, but she jumped it like it was nothing. In fact, she jumped it a little bit far left (which was more to the middle/wider part) but didn't phase her. :) 

Then did water... roll top to sharkstooth to water, then around to drop into water with tiny log... stopped. Woah mom what? Fair enough.. that's a hard question. trotted back to it and she wiggled and stopped but then went. Then trotted it twice more and went much more boldly the last time. Jumped the out beautifully since i was more balanced on her back after the drop. 

Then Jacel asked how good we were both feeling (me and laura) and asked us to do the skinny chevron. Um.... that's BIG! jacel told me to do it and to just ride it like a ramp. yeah, but I hate ramps. ha ha. The first two tries she was wiggly and strung out and not really paying attention (another horse to the far right) and I wasn't commited so we did drive bys. The third time I was committed and she nailed it! Yahooo! It felt like she jumped a good 2' higher than needed too. hee hee.

then went to the back behind the ditches and she did the trakehnher to the big ramp to the ditch and wall to the ditches to the training level coffin. (well, maybe novice elsewhere but angled!). And she was so ridable and lovely. 

It was awesome. I kept my hands low (mostly) and soft and my elbows moving. I like this bit.. but i have to be soft and forward with it. But I should anyways. And I have to ride her forward and out with it, but.. that's what she likes. But I do have breaks/control. And she's getting so much more ridable anyways (well, once we get going... getting going is like riding a hot barrel horse into the alley!). Jacel told me that she's bored and I need to let her step up. But I also have to help her now that it's not baby stuff, so I do have to add leg and be more encouraging. But I can now because she's listening and not just launching everywhere. yay. so much fun

headed back rather than hack because... she worked hard and i felt like I should spend time with mike. sad though because she deserved a little hack and splash. Should have hopped back on bareback and gone to the lake.

untacking and got her bit stuck on her mouth and got loose but just wandered off and let jacel catch her. (I was still untangling her bridle and my halter). 

GOOD PONY!

videos: and photos: xc fun

No comments:

Post a Comment