So... Funny might have been the "best" ride today. Although, maybe "best" isn't the right word... the least depressing is probably more accurate. Doh! Dan and I had fun but he's still lame and that makes me sad. Lyric was good but it wasn't a great ride and she lost her hind end a lot, so... the fact that Funny was pretty decent and not feral and not lame, means... she wins today ;) Ha ha
I rode her at home last because I was running out of time and tired. I put her ryder saddle back on but decided to try it with the rear shims. Because of the whole "chatter" issue. Even though Kristyn hopefully fixed it... she was so fussy the other day I thought I might try the half pad. She did seem better although it's hard to say if it was because it was better fitting or because she was just in a better mood today. ??? So hard to tell.
We walked up to the arena because I wanted to straddle the pole. And she nailed it too! Dang... my ponies are good at tricks. So I hopped on and we went to work. She was a bit more upright today but her tempo was good and decent. We started out quiet and slower but... very stiff. I realized I was just letting her beebop around and not holding her accountable so I started to insist on bend and lifting her barrel and... she obliged. She was fussier of course, but not too bad. We got some really decent trot work although she wasn't "on the bit". But she felt good. Then we did some cantering and played with transitions. I was trying to see if we could get the correct lead on the straight line vs on a circle. The right lead is easy. The left lead is hard but when I asked correctly, she got it. We went back to the trot and she got a little fast again but... not too terrible. And we got some nicer work over her back, although she got a little bit behind the vertical some too. But overall, a pretty good ride.
We finished with a beautiful trot both ways and a lovely downward to the walk. Good pony! She only got balky once or twice, which is way better than the last ride, so... maybe I'll keep playing with the half pad while I wait to see what Tasida and Kristyn say. (I still need to send video after the saddle was adjusted... just didn't have anyone to video today).










No comments:
Post a Comment